Dr Brian Copeland recognized as fellow of the Canadian Economics Association

Dr. Brian Copeland, in recognition of significant contributions to the field of Economics over the course of his career, has been inducted  as one of the three new CEA fellows to be awarded in 2024. These awards recognize the scholar’s contribution to the field of economics, and are given to economists who have spent a significant portion of their career in Canada.

Copeland began working at UBC in 1985, after finishing his PhD at Stanford. He joins numerous other faculty and alumni of Vancouver School of Economics, including:

  • Charles Blackorby
  • Erwin Diewert
  • Curtis Eaton
  • Larry G. Epstein (PhD ’77)
  • Mukesh Eswaran
  • Nicole Fortin (Awarded in 2023!)
  • Nancy Gallini
  • John Helliwell
  • Shelley Phipps (PhD ’87)
  • Craig Riddell
  • Anthony Scott
  • Margaret Slade

The VSE congratulates all the fellows on their membership in this prestigious organization!