Clive Chapple

HR-Clive Chapple-5

Believe it or not, Clive Chapple, Senior Instructor in the Vancouver School of Economics, was not always a microeconomics expert. Originally from England, as his characteristic accent instantly reveals, he first completed a bachelor degree in chemical engineering before moving to Canada and shifting career paths.  Popular among students for his extremely organized and engaging lectures, he now teaches a wide variety of courses including cost-benefit analysis, environmental economics, and microeconomics at both the introductory and intermediate levels. If you are thinking of trying an Economics course for the first time make sure you get a spot at one of Clive’s classes. He might even convince you to become an economist!

I started teaching when I was a PhD student at Sauder 15 years ago. The aspect I enjoy the most of it is the occasional one to one interactions with students. I like this type of communication because you can spend some quality time with students providing focused and customized help. In a class setting you try to help a broad audience to different levels of understanding and you are always at the wrong level for most people. I enjoy the challenge, other ways I would not be teaching, but if I have to rank what I enjoy the most I would place at the top of the list the one to one explanations. In those moments you can teach individuals at the right level. I enjoy interacting in the classroom a lot as well.